paper submission deadline: November 15, 1999



Paris April 3-6, 2000

Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Télécommunications
Paris - France

-----------> our sponsors

ORGANISED BY: Professor Jean Aitchison (Oxford University), Dr. Jean-Louis Dessalles (ENST Paris), Professor Jim Hurford (Department of Linguistics, University of Edinburgh), Dr. Chris Knight (Department of Sociology and Anthropology, University of East London), Professor Luc Steels (Sony CSL and Vrije Universiteit Brussel).

Jean-Louis Dessalles (ENST Paris), Laleh Ghadakpour (CREA), Frédéric Kaplan (Sony CSL), Luc Steels (Sony CSL), François Yvon (ENST Paris). 


This will be the third conference in a series concerned with the evolutionary emergence of speech. From a wide range of disciplines, we seek to attract researchers willing to integrate their perspectives with those of modern Darwinism.

 The aim is to bring together linguists, computer scientists, anthropologists, palaeontologists, ethologists, geneticists, neuroscientists, and other scientists who are concerned with the question of the origin and evolution of language.


Confirmed Invited speakers:

Frans B. M. de Waal (Emory University), Stevan Harnad (University of Southampton), Bernd Heine (Universität zu Köln), Ray Jackendoff (Brandeis University), Paul A. Mellars (University of Cambridge), Sue Savage Rumbaugh (Georgia State University), Herbert Terrace (Columbia University), Michael Tomasello (Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology).

Progamme Committee:

Jean Aitchison (Worcester College), Robert C. Berwick (M.I.T.), Derek Bickerton (Univ. Hawaï), Ted Briscoe (University of Cambridge Computer Laboratory), René Carré (ENST Paris), Bernard Comrie (Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology Leipzig), Jean Louis Dessalles (ENST Paris), Jean Marie Hombert (Maison des Sciences de l'Homme Rhône Alpes), James R. Hurford (University of Edinburgh), Michel Imbert (Université de Toulouse), Judy Kegl (University of Southern Maine), Simon Kirby (University of Edinburgh), Chris Knight (University of East London), André Langaney (Musée de l'Homme), Frederick J. Newmeyer (University of Washington), Luc Steels (Sony CSL & Vrije Universiteit Brussel), Michael Studdert Kennedy (Haskins Laboratories), Bernard Victorri (Ecole Normale Supérieure Paris).


Submission Instructions

Prospective authors are invited to submit extended abstracts or short papers (from 1 to 4 pages, max. 2000 words).

Submitted papers will be refereed and selected for oral presentation (25/30 min) on the basis of quality and relevance to the Conference topics.

Accepted abstracts and papers will be included in the Conference Proceedings and will be made accessible through the web. Copies of the proceedings will be available at the Conference. Authors of accepted contributions will be asked to submit full length papers for a volume to be published after the Conference by an international publisher.


Authors are strongly encouraged to submit their papers electronically (MS Word preferred, but most formats will be recognised).

Please email your submission to

Don't forget to include the submission form in your message.

The deadline for submission is November 15th, 1999.


If you cannot send your submission through email, please send four copies (and the submission form) to:

J-L Dessalles
ENST / Dep. InfRes
46 rue Barrault
F-75013 Paris - France

If you are planning to submit a paper or abstract, or if you simply plan to attend the Conference, please send a mail to You will be kept informed through e-mail of further useful information.


Submission Form

[ The first author should fill in the submission form and e-mail it to ]

Last NAME :

First Name :

Laboratory :

Organization/Affiliation :

Street Address :

City :

Postal code:

State/Province :

Country :

E-mail address for correspondence :

Fax :

Paper title :


Conference site: